Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-27-2013, 02:14 PM   #1
Lipripper92592

Fish Finder Screen Location

I'm pretty new to the kayak world and would like a bit of advice from people who have more time on the water than I. Currently I'm fishing out of a PA 12 and mounted the HDS5 on a ram mount. It's current location is on the starboard side gunnel. I've seen quite a few units mounted toward your feet at the sail mount, and I would like to know the pros and cons to each location, and why you picked that location to mount it. Having it mounted next to the mirage drive seems pretty far out easy reach, and controlling the sunlight glare seems to be more of an issue than having right next to you. But I can also see having on the FF on the gunnel might get in the way at times. Any comments are greatly appreciated.
Chris
Lipripper92592 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 02:19 PM   #2
RobFish
Massive Member

I too am on a PA12 w/ an HDS-5 G2. Placement in the sail mount.
It keeps me looking forward and higher up on the horizon line. I have to lean a bit forward to make changes, but I don't fuss with it all that often.
On my rails are Scotty Rocket Launchers.
Old 03-27-2013, 02:36 PM   #3
Dannowar

Nothin on my rails. Same as rob. I like my rails free in case I have to beat a fish/bail out in the surf
Old 03-27-2013, 02:36 PM   #4
Lipripper92592

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobFish View Post
I too am on a PA12 w/ an HDS-5 G2. Placement in the sail mount.
It keeps me looking forward and higher up on the horizon line. I have to lean a bit forward to make changes, but I don't fuss with it all that often.
On my rails are Scotty Rocket Launchers.