Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > Kayak Fishing Reports
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-16-2015, 01:26 PM   #1
Ohiostreetz

Almost lost all hope

So I'm completely new to kayak fishing I've been out to La Jolla 5 times now and I can't seem to catch a break. If I'm not getting my bait taken by seals, I'm not catching bait and everything in between. Went out today bait everywhere took alittle while to catch some but ended up filling the tank and off I went to troll some macs with no luck and being chased by the lions all day. I thought today would be the day I catch something but once again I was skunked and went home empty handed again. Starting to feel like I'm the most unlucky yak fishermen in SD. I did give half my bait away to another guy who couldn't catch any maybe that good karma will come around until then I'll be peddling around..

Thanks for reading my rant.

Total fish- 0

Lost items-3 (Ray bans, bait pole, and cell phone)
Ohiostreetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 01:43 PM   #2
Zfish03

No worries, some people are more lucky than others and some know how to set up for success. Even then luck comes into play. Pretty much all of us here have lost at least a paycheck or two to davey jones. It took me about a year before i landed my first YT. But that was when we weren't walking on them like we are today. Look at other report details and make sure you're using the right gear which is basically braid and fluro with any hook size. As you spend time on the water you will learn how to spot fishey areas. Pay attention to birds and sea life, look around, stick to a plan and talk to people on the water 99% of kayaks will be friendly and give you advice. especially those coming in. Keep at it, you will get one soon.
Zfish03 is offline   Reply With Quote