Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-25-2015, 09:15 PM   #1
Dave Legacy

Trolling Rods?

Hey all,

I was going through a bunch of my unsused fishing gear this evening and came accross a pair of 5'6" Fenwick Pacificstik Trolling Rods, with roller guides at the base and tip, rated 30-80#. These were given to me a while back and as a surf angler I've never had an application for them. I just got a kayak a couple weeks ago and was wondering if these are too heavy to be practical for trolling around Dana Point? Too heavy for YT, Ok for threshers is my guess...

I'm a novice to kayak fishing, so I'm just taking shots in the dark. If these are too heavy might someone recommend some rod specs for trolling around rapalas/hardbaits?

Best regards,

Dave
Dave Legacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 10:57 PM   #2
skrilla

When a fish takes you across the bow let us know how it goes.
Old 08-26-2015, 05:44 AM   #3
RobFish
Massive Member

Too short DL.
Like skrilla said, if a fish ran from L to R or vice-versa, you'd never be able to walk it around the nose of your kayak.
Here's a rough estimate of how long your rods should be. Since we sit roughly in the middle of our kayaks, take total length, divide by 2, and add 1. That number in feet is the shortest you should go on your rods…roughly.
Ex. PA12? 12 becomes 6, then 7. All my rods are 7', except my 8' jigstick for surface irons.
No need to rock a 30-80 rod either, as the fish tow us around, which is why we also don't need to run huge reels.
Hope this helps.
Old 08-26-2015, 07:31 AM   #4
taggermike