Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion

Old 04-28-2020, 09:16 PM   #1
bryan_oceanside
Junior

Suggestions for Offshore Radio/Other Safety Gear and Tips

Hi All!

I am new to kayak fishing, but have caught the bug for sure. I've been going offshore relatively often and I havent gone farther than about 1.5 miles off the coast. I am hoping to understand what it takes to go farther, what are the increased risks and how to mitigate these risks best as possible.

Does anyone has suggestions for a good offshore radio? Good price but good quality? Also I would appreciate any other safety tips when going offshore, whether it is strategy on weather forecasts or gadgets that decrease the risk of getting hurt.

Thank you!
bryan_oceanside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 09:29 PM   #2
FoodGeekFish

Safety tools:

A VHF radio - Standard Horizon and ICOM are the two major brands. SH is going to be less expensive, but less features. I run an SH HX100 - low end but gets the job done

A hand powered bilge pump

A whistle/air horn/noisemaker

A good type 2 rated PFD

A fishing buddy so you're not flying solo
FoodGeekFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 11:08 PM   #3
Udine219
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by FoodGeekFish View Post
Safety tools:

A VHF radio - Standard Horizon and ICOM are the two major brands. SH is going to be less expensive, but less features. I run an SH HX100 - low end but gets the job done

A hand powered bilge pump

A whistle/air horn/noisemaker

A good type 2 rated PFD

A fishing buddy so you're not flying solo
+1

Udine219 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 05:36 AM   #4
BenCantrell

Everything mentioned above, plus I'll add a few thoughts:

Some sort of redundancy with your paddle / pedal drive.
1) paddle + leash
2) paddle + spare paddle
3) pedal drive + paddle