Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > Kayak Fishing Reports

Old 11-07-2019, 08:35 AM   #1
Steve92004
Junior

Going to launch at La Jolla Shores first time

Hi, new here
I'm pretty new to kayak fishing but have been fishing the LA Jolla kelp for some time from boat with live bait.
I'm planning launching at La Jolla Shores this weekend or the next, I'm keeping an eye on the buoy charts and the webcam.
If I go I'll probably be by myself. You think there will be people there that will help a new guy out or let me tag along?
I guess I'll have to make bait or jig.
I'm fishing out of an Oldtown Topwater 120 PDL. I've been fishing the bays on it and the spottie action has died off so I'm looking for something else. I put a Lowrance on it out of a previous boat It's big but I'll have charting and sonar to help me out.
Thanks I'd appreciate your thoughts or help
Steve

Last edited by Steve92004; 11-07-2019 at 10:17 AM.
Steve92004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 11:42 AM   #2
baileybikes

I am a newbie in that i have been out there nearly every weekend since August but...
Launching is easy assuming less than 2ft swells - bigger is ok if the period is long - some say 4x the height so 3feet with 12 second period to give you time to get moving and go through the waves. Study them for a bit and you will see the calm period. I have gone out in 4ft+ but it took me 30 minutes to figure out the wave pattern.

As for fishing - going north of the pier is productive for bait - a lot of guys go straight out past the no-fish zone and do ok but I always struggle making bait. North of the pier you can see them boiling.