Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-12-2012, 09:32 AM   #1
sbyakfisher
Junior

Newbie needs help with calico fishing

I have been kayaking for many years and recently decided to try my hand at fishing from the yak. Joined the site and read up on Calico fishing. Ok, this looks easy, no problem.

Bought a license, pole, Shimano AX spinning reel and some 4-5 inch big hammer swim baits.

I have been out to the kelp beds off east Goleta Beach north of Santa Barbara about 5 times now, skunked every time. What's the deal! Any tips?
sbyakfisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 09:36 AM   #2
MrM

It could be the presentation. Where are you on the kelp? In it? On the outside of it? Are you drifting? Slow Trolling? They might not like the color you're using, or the thickness/color of your line. What line are you using? Ar you fishing the top, mid, or bottom? There's a bunch of factors. I'm not familiar with that area, but if there are other yakers out there, ask what colors they like to use.
Old 10-12-2012, 10:22 AM   #3
DanaPT

try war baits (w/skirts) and scent. Don't be afraid to go heavier lead heads.

keep trying you will catch them.
DanaPT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 09:53 PM   #4
PE.rider

try using live bait... anchovies or sardines near the edge of the kelp beds will get you some love...
PE.rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 06:44 PM   #5
sbyakfisher
Junior

Thanks for the replies. I don't have the equipment for live bait. I have just been throwing plastics. I have tried inside, outside, and dropping right through the kelp. Different colors, and slow and quick retrieve. I even bought some " hot sauce" scent.