Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-01-2014, 07:18 AM   #1
ricka58
Junior

Any thoughts on OK Torque vs Hobie PA?

I recently moved to San Diego and was forced to sell my boat. Kayak fishing looks like a lot of fun, but I've never paddled and I'm a novice fisherman so hands free fishing seems to be the way to go. That said, the two most reasonable options look to be the Hobie PA and the Ocean Torque. The Hobie looks like a great choice for stability and gear storage, but its pretty heavy, I'm getting old (60), and my knees are starting to feel their age. The Torque seems like a good choice, but I haven't read much about its stability. I'm going to take some lessons before I get started and will fish the bays and the bridge, but eventually I'd like to fish the LJ kelp and Baja. Any feedback would be really appreciated.
ricka58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 08:00 AM   #2
kayakfisherman

Rick,

You've concluded that:

"I've never paddled", plus, "I'm a novice fisherman", equals:

"I need hands free" and, "I need trolling motor"

There's no such thing as hands free. On a hobie, one hand is on the rudder 80-90% of the time. Trolling motor? Very rarely do you see a SoCal kayakfisherman with a trolling motor.

You're 60 with bad knees, but you want to peddle? Just moving to-and-from
with a Hobie ProAngler 14 will put an end to your knee problem...

You want storage. All hobies have poor storage because of
the Mirage Drive.

You've drawn many conclusions already, without the benefit of experience.

Don't be so quick to discount the exercise benefits of paddling. There's alot
of paddle kayaks that will help you enjoy the learning curve of kayakfishing.