Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-23-2014, 06:01 PM   #1
janines.fishtales@cox.net

Advice?

Hey guys. Been a while since I've been fishing so I tend to stay off the site cuz it bums me oout to live vicariously! Looks like I'm missing lots though. A while back I shared that I have the opportunity to go on a 6 day on the Vagabond in September. It's coming up and I'm pretty excited. I have always gotten good advice on this site so here goes:

Is 65# spectra good enough or should I get some bigger too? I have little experience with spectra and have always been a mono girl, but so many times, I see the guys who use spectra with a flouro leader and they do get bit more.

So what kind of knot for spectra to flouro, from flouro to hook? What is the best way to learn these knots? I need to start practicing them now so they get to be natural for me when the time is right.

Hooks? I like gamakatsu and owners with the little rings on them. Size? Advice on hooks? On a 6 day I am told, there is the potential for bigger fish. Any info you guys can provide is greatly appreciated!

Janine
Old 07-23-2014, 06:22 PM   #2
double p

janine,

i, too, wanted to find a good, easy to tie, strong reliable knot for spectra to flouro/mono. i found a great youtube video by the "lets talk hook up" guys on the rp (royal polaris) knot. it is very easy to tie and seems to be a very strong knot.

paul
double p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 06:46 PM   #3
5-20

For the spectra/fluoro connection, the albright's really good and its pretty easy to tie. For the fluoro/hook end, the san diego jam or palomar.
5-20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 06:48 PM   #4
troutking

ALBRIGHT KNOT

Janine,