Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Waterís Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Waterís Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2020, 08:00 PM   #1
Hillbillymad
Junior
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 27
Anyone have a good batter option for the hobie livewell

The switch on the live well broke and itís wired to go straight to the batter but I need new battery if anyone uses a certain 6v please let me know
Hillbillymad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2020, 10:28 PM   #2
SoCalEDC
Senior Member
 
SoCalEDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Rancho Cucamonga
Posts: 447
Can your just put a new switch on it?
__________________
Inland, willing to travel for fish
IG: @blackflag_fishing
SoCalEDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2020, 06:18 PM   #3
dorado123
Senior Member
 
dorado123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Garden Grove,CA
Posts: 151
https://www.amazon.com/Powersonic-PS...%2C202&sr=8-47

I use them , I think it last 5 yrs and I changed switch long times ago it's easy

https://www.amazon.com/MIDIYA-Heavy-...s%2C255&sr=8-3

Pull on off is better IMO

Last edited by dorado123; 12-15-2020 at 06:24 PM.
dorado123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2020, 07:36 AM   #4
DanaPT
Senior Member
 
DanaPT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South OC
Posts: 1,546
Switches go bad. I also direct wire the battery to the bait tank. I use wire twist caps to keep them on.

I'm using a standard 6v battery I picked up at my local hobie shop.
DanaPT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2020, 09:42 AM   #5
summers in kuwait
Senior Member
 
summers in kuwait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: East County San Diego
Posts: 652
The hobie switches on the older design livewells stink.
Mine died after 3-4 months of heavy use. Replaced with new switch and died after another 3 months. Bypass the switch and go direct.
Simply place the battery in the pocket and secure during launch and then connect the battery once ready to make bait. Very easy.

Lots of cost-effective battery options online or locally. Just confirm the size, to ensure it fits. Also, you'll need to rewire depending on the current wiring setup if you go with a non-hobie battery. Not a big deal, but just an FYI.
summers in kuwait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2020, 07:17 PM   #6
Batmann
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 117
I removed my switch and coated it using liquid electrical tape then reinstalled. Seems to have held up.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk
Batmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2020, 11:24 PM   #7
LEEZO
Senior Member
 
LEEZO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Coronado
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by summers in kuwait View Post
The hobie switches on the older design livewells stink.
Mine died after 3-4 months of heavy use. Replaced with new switch and died after another 3 months. Bypass the switch and go direct.
Simply place the battery in the pocket and secure during launch and then connect the battery once ready to make bait. Very easy.

Lots of cost-effective battery options online or locally. Just confirm the size, to ensure it fits. Also, you'll need to rewire depending on the current wiring setup if you go with a non-hobie battery. Not a big deal, but just an FYI.
agree 100% had to bypass the rusted switch at the launch recently. needless to say no more buying switches. hardwire with twist on wire nuts from here on out.
LEEZO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2020, 09:58 AM   #8
JohnMckroidJr
Senior Member
 
JohnMckroidJr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by summers in kuwait View Post
The hobie switches on the older design livewells stink.
Mine died after 3-4 months of heavy use. Replaced with new switch and died after another 3 months. Bypass the switch and go direct.
Simply place the battery in the pocket and secure during launch and then connect the battery once ready to make bait. Very easy.
I came to the same conclusion. Even the newer conductant switches break. When it failed again after replacement, switched to the bypass system as on my older livewell.
JohnMckroidJr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2020, 10:22 AM   #9
summers in kuwait
Senior Member
 
summers in kuwait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: East County San Diego
Posts: 652
There are other switch options that can be used. For example on DIY bait tanks I've used waterproof toggle switches from West Marine and had good results. At the end of the day though, you want reliability and something you can count on. Nothing worse than launching or getting out there and the bait tank is dead.


These never need batteries though
summers in kuwait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2020, 09:56 PM   #10
deptrai
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hillbillymad View Post
The switch on the live well broke and itís wired to go straight to the batter but I need new battery if anyone uses a certain 6v please let me know
I'd like to buy a vowel please. Are there any "Y's"?
deptrai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2020, 05:19 AM   #11
TJones
Senior Member
 
TJones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,465
is it an older tank?

Quote:
Originally Posted by summers in kuwait View Post
The hobie switches on the older design livewells stink.
Mine died after 3-4 months of heavy use. Replaced with new switch and died after another 3 months. Bypass the switch and go direct.
Simply place the battery in the pocket and secure during launch and then connect the battery once ready to make bait. Very easy.

Lots of cost-effective battery options online or locally. Just confirm the size, to ensure it fits. Also, you'll need to rewire depending on the current wiring setup if you go with a non-hobie battery. Not a big deal, but just an FYI.
run battery direct, bypass switch.
TJones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2020, 07:24 AM   #12
jorluivil
Senior Member
 
jorluivil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6,793
I've only had luck with one switch but it cost me $30, but like most switches it ended up failing. If cost is an issue do just like everyone else and bypass the switch, it's not hard to connect the battery to the pump when you're on the water, I've done it plenty of times.

Just remember to not connect the battery you start making bait and don't forget to disconnect it once you're done, you do not want to fully drain an SLA battery.
__________________


www.facebook.com/Teamsewer
jorluivil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2020, 09:03 AM   #13
Denis_Ruso
Senior Member
 
Denis_Ruso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 568
Since this is kinda related, no issues with my switch but just killed my 2nd battery.

Can I just pull the wire/connection off the old one and solder it to a generic 6v?
__________________
2018 Hobie Outback 13

I do not fear the storm as it will teach me how to sail my ship.
Denis_Ruso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2020, 09:25 AM   #14
Batmann
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denis_Ruso View Post
Since this is kinda related, no issues with my switch but just killed my 2nd battery.



Can I just pull the wire/connection off the old one and solder it to a generic 6v?
Just curious if anyone has figured out a good option for a 6V lithium battery?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk
Batmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2020, 10:45 AM   #15
JohnMckroidJr
Senior Member
 
JohnMckroidJr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Batmann View Post
Just curious if anyone has figured out a good option for a 6V lithium battery?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk
Some of the kayakers in my area are using "blue bricks"(cheap generic lithium batteries) off eBay. They need to be housed in a watertight container that can readily be found at Walmart. Usually hard to find 6V, but some are using 8.4V while others are using a voltage regulator to drop the power. Batteries from China are cheap, often not the Ah or voltage they claim. With that in mind, sometimes a 12v one is just fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denis_Ruso View Post
Since this is kinda related, no issues with my switch but just killed my 2nd battery.

Can I just pull the wire/connection off the old one and solder it to a generic 6v?
yes, I have done that.
JohnMckroidJr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
© 2002 Big Water's Edge. All rights reserved.