Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion

Old 02-28-2011, 07:03 PM   #1
T Bone

What is your "GO TO" Halibut rig?

Mine is a 15# 7' outfit with owner boa rig (trap hook)rigged to a sliding sinker according to drift speed and bait.For newport harbor I fish drop shot rig and catch bass too.Just curious.I have caught a few legals but I am no pro.My biggest is out of San Francisco bay at 20#.Want to fish for flatties soon.Been too long since I have pulled on some fish.

"Who among you,if your son asked for a fish would give them a serpent " Jesus Matt. 7:10
T Bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 07:23 PM   #2
mtnbykr2

carolina keeper, wieght slider w/ 1/2 to 1, beed then 15# flouro to a #1 circle...but I am all
mtnbykr2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 07:29 PM   #3
StinkyMatt

I ain't got no "Go to Rig" but a couple of observations from watching guys that know and recent experience. You do not need heavy gear. Seriously, I am watching guys Halibut fishing with what seems like heavier Trout rods with very sensitive tips ( )

Over the last couple of trips the rod that was getting bit was the light line, smaller hook/ trap set up.

I hope to soemday have a Go to Rig.
StinkyMatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 08:41 PM   #4
Fiskadoro

Quote:
Originally Posted by T Bone View Post
Mine is a 15# 7' outfit with owner boa rig (trap hook)rigged to a sliding sinker according to drift speed and bait.
Man I was just talking to someone about this a few days ago. We were talking about putting up a halibut rigging post with all the various rigs we use.

Basically I use about five different rigs depending on where I am fishing and what bait I'm using.

That said...