Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > Kayak Fishing Reports
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-08-2020, 01:37 PM   #1
Hobi-Wan Kenobi
Junior

New Port Beach Bound!

Hi guys! Coming from Las Vegas for a chance to fish some saltwater, fist time this year, YEAH! I'm planning to launch from the Coast Guard Beach and from what I've found, I'll have to park on the street. I've got a beach cart.
Looking for some company if anyone wants to join or send some good info to a landlubber.
I hear there's some man made fish areas to the north of the harbor mouth. Any coordinates will be appreciated.
Should I bring some shrimp? What size lead heads? flat falls? Should I get bait at the barge or has it been easy making bait with the sabiki?
I'm not a complete noob when it comes to saltwater but any relevant info would greatly be appreciated!
I plan to leave 6am as that's when I remember the parking lot opens.

"May the Fish Be With You!"
Hobi-Wan Kenobi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2020, 07:14 PM   #2
greenscales
greenscales

Haven’t fished the spot in a while, but one suggestion if you are not used to current. Check the tides and plan accordingly to not fight extreme swings, but use them. It will allow you cover more distance on the water. Expect a lot of boat traffic as things open up.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
greenscales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2020, 08:26 PM   #3
ivanwang811
Junior

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hobi-Wan Kenobi View Post
Hi guys! Coming from Las Vegas for a chance to fish some saltwater, fist time this year, YEAH! I'm planning to launch from the Coast Guard Beach and from what I've found, I'll have to park on the street. I've got a beach cart.
Looking for some company if anyone wants to join or send some good info to a landlubber.