Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion

Old 11-02-2015, 09:10 AM   #1
ROSSOLY

Gear ratios, retrieve rates per species

Hi guys, I'm relatively new to kayak fishing, still learning. Was wondering what gear ratios or LPT lengths are ideal for bay bass, kelp calicos, bonitos and rockfish all fishing swimbaits or jigs (no live bait). Thanks for your input.
ROSSOLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2015, 09:26 AM   #2
surfisher

For bass fishing I typically prefer something a little slower, especially for spottie fishing where you want to just roll your bait slowly over eel grass. Same thing for calico's, although for Calico I like to burn my baits to get a reaction bite so I will often being winding in fast.

For surface iron I prefer something with a faster ratio, because you want to pull the jigs through the water at a speed to make them kick properly. Some jigs swim good on a fast wind while others swim good on a slow wind, but having something that pulls in a lot of line per crank helps a lot.

Keep in mind a reel with a high gear ratio doesn't mean it will pull in a lot of line per crank, so that is one thing you definitely want to look at when picking out a reel. I'm definitely no expert but I have found those options have worked really good for me.
Old 11-02-2015, 10:12 AM   #3
taggermike