Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion

Old 03-24-2017, 07:12 PM   #1
TAngler
Junior

Landing and launching a hobie

I'm relatively new to west coast surf launching. Met a few of you folks out fishing and everyone seems very cool and pleasant.
So here is my question:
The Question for all you mirage drive folks. Do you land with the drive up and rudder up (paddle in) or do you peddle in and then push the flippers flat against the hull when it gets shallow and let the rudder up at the last minute? Landed today using the drive and it was easier than paddling in. obviously you could damage the drive and rudder, and I was wondering what most people do? Thanks for the help.
TAngler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2017, 08:21 PM   #2
GTboosted

I wouldn't recommend landing with the drive in. Ive done twice and the last time it seized slightly. When I got home I had to fill the tub and work it slowly to get the sand out.
Old 03-24-2017, 08:31 PM   #3
Mahigeer

I pull up the drive and the rudder.

If I suddenly get in a shallow area while fishing, then I just push to make the fins flat.

I have been lucky at Baja, that the rudder has not been damaged going over some rocks.
Mahigeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2017, 10:01 PM   #4
fishnfoool

Fins and drive up. If waves light head in. If waves big, i come in backwards
fishnfoool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2017, 12:17 AM   #5
momo fish

Depends... For a shore pound paddle in, to much risk to drives.. other wise I would just use the drive as better speed and control.. use bungees to pull drives flat against the hull and jump out once your knee deep..
momo fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2017, 04:22 AM   #6
YakDout
Brandon