Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-18-2008, 09:52 AM   #1
Quilted Germ

La Jolla Launch

I'm new to kayak fishing and would love to give LJ a go, but I'm wondering why everyone seems to launch at the shores and not somewhere closer to the actual fishing spot. Seems like there are a lot of potential launch areas near downtown LJ, would just need the help getting the kayaks to the launch area. If you have two guys, seems not too bad.....Am I crazy? Stupid? Also, how far north have the YTs been caught in SD county? Heard about them around Cardiff but never seen them. Thanks for the info and looking forward to my first YT off the kayak.
Quilted Germ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 10:26 AM   #2
esdees
The Good Clone

Many people launch at the shores because you can drive onto the beach to unload and load, and the surf is very minimal. Even though it's only sand, it is considered a boat launch, so there are no swimmers, surfers, etc to navigate.
esdees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 11:25 AM   #3
Handymansd
Ancient Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by esdees View Post
Even though it's only sand, it is considered a boat launch, so there are no swimmers, surfers, etc to navigate.
I almost ran over two swimmers Tues, and the tourist yakkers are as bad as I have ever seen them. I was hit by one Sunday afternoon and they broke one of my poles!! Boogie boarders think it is their area to boogie in and it never gets any better because the ignorant people turn over to new ones daily.And parking is becoming horrendous even at 4am! Maybe it is time to launch from the tide pools or something... I know... I need to find someone with access to the pier for launching.