Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > Kayak Fishing Reports
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-24-2006, 12:02 PM   #1
SAR

Landing Fish on a Kayak

I'm new to the sport and I'm trying to learn as much as I can before I start fishing from my kayak. Right now I'm in the phase of taking my kayak out on the ocean and getting comfortable with the conditions, I'm also talking with as many fishermen as I can. My question for you is what is the process for safely landing larger fish from the kayak? I've seen people with gaffs and nets but I haven't actually seen a fish landed yet. Also I read a post here over the weekend where someone talked about bleeding and cleaning his yt on the water. Is that common and what are the advantages/disadvantages of doing that? Thanks!
SAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 01:26 PM   #2
lamb

You may have been the guy riding Tarpon 140 I talked to?

Great that you’re taking your kayak out first to make sure you’re comfortable before you start fishing. I admit, I'm guilty of skipping that part. Reading up these boards and talking to yak fisherman is great way to get ins and outs of the sport… Taking kayak safety / surf class with the local kayak guide is highly beneficial as well.

You bleed YT to get the blood out – meat ends up with better texture, cleaner fillets, supposedly it even tastes better. It also helps to cut the fish out of its misery. I pull their gills right after I secure the fish. Sounds pretty savage, but their beating hart will help pump the blood out. I found YTs calm down pretty quickly after that, no flapping on the deck. Then I drink their blood in excitement… Ok, I’m just kidding on that part. :lol: