Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > Kayak Fishing Reports

Old 10-14-2020, 01:51 PM   #1
ProfessorLongArms

Happy Lobster Season, Y'all

Hey all,
I'd posted this elsewhere and thought I'd share here for any who like to share the stoke

Lobster is such a medley of feelings for me.

I’ve been freediving for just shy of 2 years, and my course actually was punctuated by a spear/lobster trip in PV.

While my first year was slow starting, my second year was one of absolute frustration where I reached a point of focusing on other more fruitful pursuits in spearing and foraging.
Setbacks included almost dislocating my shoulder with the help of a big wave on the rocks in PV in pitch dark *and* losing my brand new dive watch in the process, sifting through dozens of shorts just to find a stray legal here and there, and just generally not understanding how to get one out of the rocks when I’d find them holed up.

Also, acknowledging that one doesn’t really get to choose how they feel as much as how they listen to that feeling, I have an unusually strong feeling of anthropomorphizing lobster.
Second only to an Octopus, it’s one of the only ocean creatures I feel a good bit of unease and remorse toward harvesting for food.
I think part of it is that they move remarkably similar to our little rescue pup when she’s nervous.
I think another part of it is my wife’s strong push for me to make absolutely sure I’m humanely dispatching them (something that’s pretty widely debated...

My approach finally settled on putting them in the freezer for half an hour while doing other stuff, and then bisecting completely down the middle longways….
If you think that's impractical or over the top, and prefer boiling a critter alive or ripping its lower half off while it's still kicking....
I'm not really sure what to tell you and you can keep that one to yourself