Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge

Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge (http://www.bigwatersedge.com/bwevb/index.php)
-   General Kayak Fishing Discussion (http://www.bigwatersedge.com/bwevb/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   New"ish" Guy Looking for a few answers / suggestions ! Thank You!!! (http://www.bigwatersedge.com/bwevb/showthread.php?t=24312)

Kayak_Bernie 01-12-2015 09:53 AM

New"ish" Guy Looking for a few answers / suggestions ! Thank You!!!

Hi all,

So I am fairly new to San Diego I moved here July of 2013, but then ended up in Michigan for 8 months. So I am fairly new to fishing in SoCal. I fish in LJ and all over Mission and SD Bays. I still haven't landed a YT from the kayak :( but I have managed to catch some nice spotties, and Halibut in the bays. I am looking to expand my fishing locations and I had a few questions.

I hear places like Cabrillo and the Sewer, and San Onofre but I am not sure where they are?
Is Cabrillo the National Monument at the end of Point Loma in SD? Do they have a launch there?

how about The Sewer ? is this Mission Bay ?

I am Guessing that San Onofre is the state park south of the power plant? Where do I launch there? Beach ?

Where can I find a place to fish for Rockfish ( i know they are closed currently) ?

Any good books magazine articles I can read to hone my skills?

Anyway, I am looking expand my fishing areas/ and expertise and I thought this would be a great place to come for answers or even some helpful suggestions. I greatly appreciate any help!!!

Cheers, Bernie

MrPatrick 01-12-2015 10:49 AM

Rule one: know where Tony and his video camera are at all times! 😄

TroutBum 01-12-2015 11:00 AM

San O.... drive to the end of the road, south of "Old Mans" Beach Launch.

Cadillyak 01-12-2015 11:49 AM