Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge

Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge (http://www.bigwatersedge.com/bwevb/index.php)
-   Kayak Fishing Reports (http://www.bigwatersedge.com/bwevb/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Newbie fishing southbay (http://www.bigwatersedge.com/bwevb/showthread.php?t=20585)

l8kerz42 01-14-2014 06:22 PM

Newbie fishing southbay

I am new to Kayak fishing and I live in Torrance, CA. Havent fished outside of the Cabrillo inner harbor and am looking to try a suf launch. Any tips?

YakDout 01-14-2014 06:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by l8kerz42 (Post 179298)
I am new to Kayak fishing and I live in Torrance, CA. Havent fished outside of the Cabrillo inner harbor and am looking to try a suf launch. Any tips?

Don't flip. Unless everything is tied down.

l8kerz42 01-14-2014 08:19 PM

Thanks for the heads up. Gonna try with no gear first few time!

StinkyMatt 01-14-2014 08:28 PM

Post up when you plan to go...there may be others that have plans and you can meet up.. always safer and more fun with company.

jorluivil 01-15-2014 06:35 AM

Best tip ever

DO NOT FOLLOW GREG:eek:

GregAndrew 01-15-2014 07:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jorluivil (Post 179330)
Best tip ever

DO NOT FOLLOW GREG:eek:

Now that was funny :D:D:D

GregAndrew 01-15-2014 07:15 AM

If you are going without gear, Malaga Cove could be a good place for some practice, and relatively close for you. You can also get some practice at the Beach at Cabrillo. Start at the right end of the beach at Cabrillo, and work your way to the left as you feel comfortable. Check the swell size and direction before you head out.

ChristLike 01-15-2014 07:30 AM

strap everything down with gear. keep the nose straight. umm no advice for coming back lol that's the hardest part. Pack your best girly screams and use them coming in when those big waves pick you up from the back

ctfphoto 01-15-2014 10:09 AM

Check the swell chart, Check the swell chart, and Check the swell chart.